Wednesday, 19 June 2019

UB40 - Live In Montreux (2002)


Recorded live in Montreux, Switzerland on 19 July 2002

Running time 01:07:18


1. The Way You Do The Things You Do
2. Here I Am (Come And Take Me)
3. One In Ten
4. If It Happens Again
5. Homely Girl
6. Kingston Town
7. Reggae Music
8. Don't Break My Heart
9. Love It When You Smile
10. Rat In Mi Kitchen
11. Rudie
12. Cover Up
13. Red, Red Wine
14. Can't Help Falling In Love
15. Cherry Oh Baby
16. Many Rivers To Cross                      

This was recorded in 2002, a full fifteen years after UB40's previous live album, Live in Moscow  and twenty years after UB40 Live. It is a solidly played live album, a healthy mixture of hits and contemporary album tracks. The group's trademark sounds are all here - that punchy brass section, their keyboard-driven skanking and Ali Campbell's unique, nasal twang of a voice. All the songs are delivered as an endless run of examples showing just what a professional outfit UB40 had always been. The rift within the group that would splinter them into two separate bands was still six or seven years away and there is an enthusiasm present that all their fans will admit that they miss.

The sound quality on the album is excellent, with a lovely, warm bass tone and the live atmosphere is there without it being overwhelming. I wish it could have covered the full set, however. It is nice to hear contemporary tracks like Rudie, Cover Up and Love It When You Smile played though. The ragga toasting on Reggae Music is a good inclusion too.


No comments:

Post a Comment