Saturday, 8 June 2019




Rhode Island male vocal group Tavares had their main period of success in the disco-dominated years of 1976-78, therefore they are considered, retrospectively, to be a disco group, like Shalamar or Odyssey. This is to overlook their soul roots which yielded a minor hit single in their soulful cover of Daryl Hall and John Oates’ She's Gone. However, it has to be said that they were one hell of a danceable disco group, with some completely infectious numbers that instantly transport you back to those heady days of 1976-77 - hot summers, girls in summer clothes, tan lines and “Saturday Night Fever”.

Their first disco hit was 1975’s  catchy It Only Takes A Minute with its instantly appealing chorus hook. Also released in the same year was the enjoyable soul of My Ship.

It was 1976 that really broke the group big, however, with the mighty Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel which not only had a great disco rhythm (particularly in its extended version) but a fantastic vocal and killer chorus. It has a wonderful intro too. Don't Take Away The Music was similarly instant in its appeal. Another easy to sing refrain and, again, impressive in its lengthier incarnation. My own favourite was always the next single, the less successful, poppy disco soul of The Mighty Power Of Love which featured some more top notch vocals.

Whodunit was a bigger bit, but never really did it for me and One Step Away was a tuneful, medium hit. Their last big hit in what had been a rollercoaster year or so was the now iconic More Than A Woman from Saturday Night Fever. I have always preferred this version to that of The Bee Gees, by far.

Another compilation album of great seventies soul/disco memories.

1. It Only Takes A Minute
2. Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel
3. Slow Train To Paradise
4. Never Had A Love Like This Before
5. Check It Out
6. She's Gone
7. My Ship
8. Don't Take Away The Music
9. Whodunit
10. The Mighty Power Of Love
11. One Step Away
12. The Ghost Of Love
13. The Love I Never Had
14. I Wanna See You Soon
15. Bein' With You
16. More Than A Woman