Friday, 31 May 2019

Mudcrutch - Mudcrutch 2 (2016)

The other side of the mountain....


Released May 2016

After a debut in 2008 that saw Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers re-record some of the early material when they were called Mudcrutch, this time, eight years later they reconvened, this time all of them contributing in the writing of the new material. There is some great stuff on it, probably as good as on any recent Petty albums. Unfortunately, it would be the last new material he would do.


1. Trailer
2. Dreams Of Flying
3. Beautiful Blue
4. Beautiful World
5. I Forgive It All
6. The Other Side Of The Mountain
7. Hope
8. Welcome To Hell
9. Save Your Water
10. Victim Of Circumstance
11. Hungry No More                                

Tom Petty's Trailer is a delightful, mid-pace typical Petty melodic guitar-driven rocker, with a bit of harmonica thrown in at the end. Dreams Of Flying is great too, a solid rocker that would have sounded great on any Heartbreakers' album. Beautiful Blue is a lovely slow burning ballad with an excellent guitar bit at the end.

Beautiful World by Randall Marsh is a Byrds/Beatles influenced catchy rocker. Petty's I Forgive It All is a folky, Dylanesque acoustic ballad. There are shades of Springsteen about it too. Tom Leadon's The Other Side of The Mountain is a lively, folky early Eagles-ish number. Hope is Petty sounding a bit like Elvis Costello & The Attractions in its organ-driven new-wavey thump.

Benmont Tench's Welcome To Hell is an infectious piece of solid country blues. Petty's Byrds-esque Save Your Water is another solid rocker as is Mike Campbell's Victim Of Circumstance. Petty's yearning rock ballad Hungry No More ends what is a short but perfectly-formed album. If you are a fan of Tom Petty's work, this is highly recommended.


No comments:

Post a Comment