Sunday, 28 April 2019

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers - The Best Of Everything 1976-2016

I won't back down....


Yes, this is another Tom Petty compilation. As others have pertinently said - "do we need one?". Possibly not. Possibly yes. The previous one, "American Treasure" was an excellent collection of outtakes, alternative versions and live cuts interspersed with some superb remasters of early tracks. This set is more of the "well known" tracks type of release, but it still has a few rarities, a really good Stevie Nicks collaboration track and some impressive tracks from Mudcrutch (the name The Heartbreakers first called themselves from 1970-1975). The important thing, for me, is the outstanding remastered sound, which has still, incredibly frustratingly, not been applied to the first two Heartbreakers albums and "Southern Accents" and Tom Petty solo albums like "Full Moon Fever" and "Wildflowers". Although you don't get more than one or two tracks from each album, it is great to hear those that are included in superb big, full, bassy sound - at last.

The "Anthology" set also has a good sound quality too, as does "American Treasure". So, do we need another collection? For me, yes - to add to those two and get as much Petty remastered material as possible. It really gives a new life to the songs.

Personal highlights are - "You Wreck Me", Mudcrutch's "Scare Easy", the previously unreleased "For Real", the Springsteen-esque "I Need To Know", the pounding rock of "Runnin' Down A Dream""Even The Losers", "You Got Lucky", "Learning To Fly", the riffy, Stonesy "Jammin' Me" and the Stevie Nicks song "Stop Draggin' My Heart Around". Of course, there are many more, including the more famous ones. There is not really a duff track on here, let's be honest.

TRACK LISTING * by Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers unless stated otherwise

1. Free Fallin' - Tom Petty
2. Mary Jane's Last Dance
3. You Wreck Me - Tom Petty
4. I Won't Back Down - Tom Petty
5. Saving Grace - Tom Petty
6. You Don't Know How It Feels - Tom Petty
7. Don't Do Me Like That
8. Listen To Her Heart
9. Breakdown
10. Walls (Ciircus)
11. The Waiting
12. Don't Come Around Here No More
13. Southern Accents
14. Angel Dream (No. 2)
15. Dreamville
16. I Should Have Known It
17. Refugee
18. American Girl
19. The Best Of Everything (Alternate Version)
20. Wildflowers - Tom Petty
21. Learning To Fly
22. Here Comes My Girl
23. The Last DJ
24. I Need To Know
25. Scare Easy - Mudcrutch
26. You Got Lucky
27. Runnin' Down A Dream - Tom Petty
28. American Dream Plan B - Tom Petty
29. Stop Draggin' My Heart Around - Stevie Nicks
30. Trailer - Mudcrutch
31. Into The Great Wide Open
32. Room At The Top
33. Square One - Tom Petty
34. Jammin' Me
35. Even The Losers
36. Hungry No More - Mudcrutch
37. I Forgive It All - Mudcrutch
38. For Real


No comments:

Post a Comment