Wednesday, 20 March 2019

Willy De Ville - Live At The Metropol, Berlin (2002)


Recorded live in Berlin

I have several Willy De Ville live recordings and they are all truly excellent. To the end De Ville had real charisma and a voice that makes your heart skip a beat. This is a good set list made up mainly of his solo recordings and not so many older Mink De Ville numbers (there are six). Four of the tracks are from the almost impossible to get hold of album, "Horse Of A Different Colour". The sound quality is impressive too. The band is a basic one - two guitars, bass, drums and backing vocals, no saxophone or piano, which does subtract a little from the traditional De Ville sound, but they seem to get by effectively enough, delivering a full, powerful sound.


1. Loup Garou
2. One Night Of Sin
3. Broken Heart
4. Runnin' Through The Jungle
5. Bamboo Road
6. Lay Me Down Easy
7. Carmelita
8. Steady Drivin' Man
9. Across The Borderline
10. 18 Hammers
11. Cadillac Walk
12. Can't Do Without It
13. Bad Boy
14. Who's Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Foot?
15. Heart And Soul
16. Goin' Over The Hill
17. Just Your Friends
18. Spanish Stroll
19. All By Myself
20. Hey Joe

Highlights are a rare appearance for old Mink De Ville favourites "Can't Do Without It" and "Just Your Friends" and a beautiful cover of Warren Zevon's "Carmelita". "Who's Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Foot?" is a surprising cover of a Woody Guthrie song. Jimi Hendrix's "Hey Joe" is done in catchy Mexican mariachi style.

There is some not so regularly-performed material on here that makes this a live album well worth owning if you are a De Ville aficionado. His voice may be a little older and gruffer but it has lost none of its atmospheric quality, its yesterday, today, tomorrow soul.


No comments:

Post a Comment