Thursday, 28 February 2019

Tamla Motown Connoisseurs Volume Two

This is the second volume of impressive songs from the Motown vaults and is equally as good and interesting a listen. The sound is similarly powerful. As with the first volume, the stereo is impressive and the mono is positively booming, bass-wise. Check out the instrumental version of Diana Ross & The Supremes' "Come See About Me" by Choker Campbell.


1. My Love For You - Marvin Gaye
2. What You Gonna Do With Me Baby - The Four Tops
3. You've Been In Love Too Long - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas
4. Come See About Me - Choker Campbell
5. Tell Me - The Vows
6. Let Love Live (A Little Bit Longer) - The Velvelettes
7. Take Me Back - Freddie Gorman
8. Way Over There - Edwin Starr
9. You Got Me Hurtin' All Over - Barbara Randolph
10. California Soul - Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell
11. Blackmail - Bobby Taylor
12. If I Could Give You The World - Heart And Stone
13. It Happens Every Time - Barbara McNair
14. Tear It On Down - The Originals
15. Look What You Done Boy - Lollipops
16. Don't Tell Me I'm Crazy - The Fantastic Four
17. How Many Times Did You Mean It - Brenda Holloway
18. I Got Heaven Right Here On Earth - The Temptations
19. Don't Wanna Play Pyjama Games - G.C. Cameron
20. Red Hot Love - The Four Tops
21. Rilleh - Marvin Gaye & Oma Page

The are are more genuine rarities on this volume than on the first, and in their ranks are some absolute corkers. My favourites are Freddie Gorman's lively "Take Me Back"; the wonderful, thumping, Northern Soul-ish "Tell Me" by The Vows; Bobby Taylor's excellent "Blackmail"; "Tear It On Down" from The Originals (also recorded by Martha Reeves & The Vandellas); the extremely obscure and catchy "If I Could Give You The World" by Heart And Stone; and "Look What You Done Boy" by Lollipops.

There are also some solid tracks from established acts like "I Got Heaven Right Here On Earth" by The Temptations, "You've Been In Love Too Long" from Martha Reeves & The Vandellas, the punchy "Let Love Live (A Little Bit Longer)" by The Velvelettes and Edwin Starr's magnificent "Way Over There".

As with the first volume, this is highly recommended and easy to get hold of for next to nothing. Do it.


No comments:

Post a Comment