Monday, 7 January 2019

Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes - Messin' With The Blues (2000)


Released in 2000


1. Gin-Soaked Boy
2. Living with The Blues
3. Rhumba and Coke
4. Sinful
5. Messin' Around With The Blues
6. Tell 'Em I'm Broke
7. Satan's Shoes
8. Intermission
9. Cadillac Jack
10. Looks Like Rain
11. River's Invitation
12. Come Home, Little Girl
13. Mother Earth
14. Kill My Love                                                

This impressive and enjoyable album, from 2000, sees New Jersey's Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes returning to their blues roots to produce an excellent album of copper-bottomed blues songs such as the stomping “Gin Soaked Boy”“Living With The Blues” and the excellent “Cadillac Jack”. Also notable is the muscular "Satan's Shoes" and the solid title track. Southside Johnny can sing the blues with his eyes shut, so it is no ill-advised dalliance as these albums sometimes can be. It is a true labour of love.

Produced by bassist Garry Tallent from Bruce Springsteen’s E St. Band, it is a proper blues album full of down 'n' dirty harmonica, throbbing bass and Southside’s "gargled in gin and axle grease" voice. The sound quality on it is outstanding too - big, full and bassy, just as it should be.


No comments:

Post a Comment