Saturday, 17 November 2018

The Rolling Stones - Voodoo Lounge Uncut (Live) (1994)


** this review is for the music only, not the DVD **

Yes, this is another Rolling Stones live album, with many of the same songs on the set list, and, although, it is marketed as "Voodoo Lounge Uncut", there are actually only four songs from that album on here - "You Got Me Rocking"; "Sparks Will Fly"; "I Go Wild" and Keith Richards' "The Worst". Much of the rest of the set is made up, as I said, from the "usual suspects".


1. Not Fade Away
2. Tumbling Dice
3. You Got Me Rocking
4. Rocks Off
5. Sparks Will Fly
6. Live With Me
7. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
8. Beast Of Burden
9. Angie
10. Dead Flowers
11. Sweet Virginia
12. Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
13. It's All Over Now
14. Stop Breaking Down?
15. Who Do You Love
16. I Go Wild
17. Miss You
18. Honky Tonk Women
19. Before They Make Me Run
20. The Worst
21. Sympathy For The Devil
22. Monkey Man
23. Street Fightin' Man
24. Start Me Up
25. It's Only Rock 'n' Roll (But I Like It)
26. Brown Sugar
27. Jumpin' Jack Flash

That said, there is a looseness and energy to this live performance that separates it slightly from some of the many Stones live albums available. It is quite difficult to explain but Mick Jagger's vocals seem more improvised, Richards' guitar similarly so. Check out the rhythmic groove of "Beast Of Burden". Just something about it. A few subtle set list changes too, such as "Satisfaction" appearing seventh track in. There is also quite a lot of Jagger "chat" with the audience. There are a few rarities too - superb blues covers of "Stop Breaking Down" (with Robert Cray) and "Who Do You Love" (with Bo Diddley) ; welcome appearances for "Not Fade Away", "It's All Over Now", "Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)" (which sounds great) and "Dead Flowers" (sung acoustically, along with "Angie"). There is a beauty to both of these latter performances. Cheryl Crow also guests on vocals on "Live With Me", successfully.


The sound quality is excellent and I am finding that I am enjoying this one a lot. There is an energised freshness to the delivery that is discernible, to someone who has all their live recordings, at least, and that is pretty much who this will appeal to.


No comments:

Post a Comment