Sunday, 25 November 2018

John Mayall's Bluesbreakers - A Hard Road (1967)

There's always work....


Released February 1967

After the departure of Eric Clapton, soon to be Fleetwood Mac guitarist Peter Green joined Mayall for this impressive UK blues/r'n'b album. The rest of the band was another future Fleetwood Mac member, John McVie, drummer Aynsley Dunbar (who played on David Bowie's 1973 Pin Ups amongst many other albums) and John Almond on saxophone.


1. A Hard Road
2. It's Over
3. You Don't Love Me
4. The Stumble
5. Another Kinda Love
6. Hit The Highway
7. Leaping Christine
8. Dust My Blues
9. There's Always Work
10. The Same Way
11. The Super-Natural
12. Top Of The Hill
13. Someday After A While (You'll Be Sorry)
14. Living Alone                                      

The album was the now customary collection of blues covers, such as Dust My Blues, You Don't Love Me and The Stumble, and originals, some written by Mayall, some by Green. It is also notable for using a horn section on three tracks, lending a distinctly jumping, jazzy feel to numbers like the lively Leaping Christine. Peter Green's guitar is superb throughout, reverby as opposed to Clapton's full-on attack and, although very much of its time, it is a highly recommended example of the best of late sixties British r'n'b.

Mayall painted the cover himself, apparently. The 2003 remaster has wonderful sound quality and many bonus tracks, all in the same vein.


No comments:

Post a Comment