Thursday, 4 October 2018

The Rolling Stones - The Rolling Stones, Now! (1965)

I am the little red rooster....


Released February 1965

Recorded in the USA and London

Running time 35.58


1. Everybody Needs Somebody To Love
2. Down Home Girl
3. You Can't Catch Me
4. Heart Of Stone
5. What A Shame
6. Mona (I Need You Baby)
7. Down The Road Apiece
8. Off The Hook
9. Pain In My Heart
10. Oh Baby (We Got A Good Thing Goin')
11. Little Red Rooster
12. Surprise, Surprise                                                  

This is another of those US-only early Rolling Stones releases, coming just after the UK release of "Rolling Stones No. 2". It was released on CD by ABKCO in 2002 with three of the tracks in stereo - Heart Of Stone, What A Shame  and Down The Road Apiece. They all sound incredibly good it has to be said. Sixties stereo at its very best. The others were in mono, but also of seriously good quality, particularly the crystal clear blues of Little Red Rooster, the cod-Southern States drawling Down Home Girl and Chuck Berry's rocking soul/blues of You Can't Catch Me. Indeed, Rooster in mono is a thing of beauty.

The album is also included, in wonderful pure mono, on the incredibly impressive Rolling Stones In Mono box set. Listening to it in perfect, bassy, powerful mono via this box set is, for me, the best way of listening to the album, although as I said earlier the three stereo tracks from the ABKCO remaster sound incredibly good too.

This was a fine album, actually, a nice mix of solid blues covers and Jagger/Richards originals. The sound quality is the best of the four UK and US albums released thus far. It is my favourite collection of songs on these early Stones albums. You simply can't beat Little Red Rooster, Down The Road Apiece, Off The Hook, the blues of Pain In My Heart and You Can't Catch Me are all personal high points. The bluesy early Stones at their very best. I will never tire of giving this album a listen.


No comments:

Post a Comment