Tuesday, 28 August 2018

The Rolling Stones - Some Girls Live In Texas (1978)



1. Let It Rock

2. All Down The Line
3. Honky Tonk Women
4. Starfucker 
5. When The Whip Comes Down
6. Beast Of Burden
7. Miss You
8. Just My Imagination
9. Shattered
10. Respectable
11. Far Away Eyes
12. Love In Vain
13. Tumbling Dice
14. Happy
15. Sweet Little Sixteen
16. Brown Sugar                                    
17. Jumpin' Jack Flash

Another one with The Stones still on storming live form, this time including material from 1978's "Some Girl album into the set. Rarities are a bassy, pulsating Let It Rock as an opener and Chuck Berry's Sweet Little Sixteen, which is upbeat and rockingly joyful. 

It is nice to hear vibrant versions of Shattered and Respectable as well as the cod-country of Faraway Eyes and Just My Imagination. Love In Vain gets an outing as well. 

Tumbling Dice is just so damn good, so dirty and lazily unforgettable. Honky Tonk Women rocks just as hard as it it should. The extended Miss You is great fun too. Keith's Happy is grinding, horn-driven and gruffly rocking, with a big, rumbling bass underpinning it. Mick and Keith sing it together, as they used to. I love it performed like that. Jagger growls the vocals out, roaring like a demented wild animal. All Down The Line and Starfucker get full-on workouts too. 

The band were still cooking on a high temperature here, the early seventies vim and vigour was still clearly there. This is a really great Stones live album. 

The sound quality is up here with the best of The Stones live recordings as well. I have always liked the 1930/40s girl on the cover too.


No comments:

Post a Comment