Tuesday, 28 August 2018

The Rolling Stones - Flashpoint (1990)



1. Start Me Up
2. Sad Sad Sad
3. Miss You
4. Rock And A Hard Place
5. Ruby Tuesday
6. You Can't Always Get What You Want
7. Factory Girl
8. Can't Be Seen
9. Little Red Rooster
10. Paint It Black
11. Sympathy For The Devil
12. Brown Sugar
13. Jumpin' Jack Flash
14. Satisfaction
15. Highwire
16. Sex Drive                                                        

An official live release of material selected from various gigs in the late eighties, although it plays like one gig. It has a great sound quality - clear, thumping and deliciously full of bass attack. Notable inclusions are an effervescent, rocking Sad Sad Sad complete with horn section backing; a bluesy, acoustic-driven Factory Girl; an also acoustic Ruby Tuesday; Keith's gently appealing Can't Be Seen (given a pulsating rock groove here); the authentic blues of Little Red Rooster (not often played)*; the late eighties synthy Rock And A Hard Place and the sixties romp of Paint It, Black.

Jumpin' Jack Flash is played with an addictive energy and enthusiasm and Start Me Up is a rousing, crowd pleasing opener. Satisfaction, at the very end, is played with a breakneck punky intensity. It has a real live, improvised appeal, with its "can you hear me one time, two time, three times, four time..." call and response part. Sympathy For The Devil is barnstorming too.

The album suffers just a tiny bit from not being a full concert, but it it functions with more continuity than did "Still Life".

Interesting studio cuts included on the CD are the energetic, rocking and riffy political single, Highwire and the dance-ish and leery Sex Drive.

* Little Red Rooster features Eric Clapton on guitar here and a mighty performance it is too.


No comments:

Post a Comment