Monday, 4 June 2018

UB40 - Getting Over The Storm (2015)

Blue eyes crying in the rain....


Released September 2013

“The voice of UB40”, Ali Campbell, leaves in a fit of sibling rivalry pique, gets replaced by elder brother Duncan, who was never in the group for all those success-filled years and guess what? The band release a country and western reggae album! That will go down well. Cue the predictable chorus of criticism.


This is a very pleasant album to listen to. The laid back reggae groove suits the country songs perfectly - “Getting Over The Storm”, “Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain”, “Midnight Rider”, “I Did What I Did”, “He’ll Have To Go” are highlights.

“If You Ever Have Forever” and “How Can A Poor Man Stand Such Times And Live” are personal favourites.

Forget the criticism. Good album.


1. Midnight Rider

2. I'm Pretty Sure That's Just What's Killing Me
3. Getting Over The Storm
4. Blue Bilet Doux
5. If You Ever Have Forever In Mind
6. Crying Time
7. How Will I Get Through This One
8. He'll Have To Go
9. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain
10. I Did What I Did
11. On The Other Hand
12. How Can Poor Men Stand Such Times And Live
13. I Didn't Know That I                                                 


No comments:

Post a Comment