Monday, 4 June 2018

The Complete Motown Singles Volume Six (1966)


1966 was one hell of a year for Motown and this excellent volume of this wonderful series shows that to be the case. Mind you, Billy Eckstine and Rick, Robin & Him are still contributors on here! From the sublime to the ridiculous.

Spectacularly remastered in the original true MONO and some “promo versions” in STEREO, the sound is a revelation as always.

Motown had well and truly arrived now, here are the highlights:-

“Get Ready” - The Temptations
“What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted” - Jimmy Ruffin
“This Old Heart Of Mine” - The Isley Brothers
“It Takes Two” - Marvin Gaye & Kim Weston
“I’m Ready For Love” - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas
“Beauty Is Only Skin Deep” - The Temptations
“Helpless” - Kim Weston
“I’m A Road Runner” - Jr. Walker & The All Stars
“You Can’t Hurry Love” - Diana Ross & The Supremes
“Love Is Like An Itching In My Heart” - Diana Ross & The Supremes
“Ain’t Too Proud To Beg” - The Temptations
“Reach Out I’ll Be There” - The Four Tops
“Heaven Must Have Sent You” - The Elgins
“I’ve Passed This Way Before” - Jimmy Ruffin
“Function At The Junction” - Shorty Long
“One More Heartache” - Marvin Gaye
“Standing In The Shadows Of Love” - The Four Tops
“I Know I’m Losing You” - The Temptations

The music speaks for itself.


No comments:

Post a Comment