Sunday, 3 June 2018

Slade - Slayed (1972)

Has them made to match up to her suits....


Released November 1972

This was the first album I bought back in late 1972 before progressing to David Bowie, Mott The Hoople and Roxy Music. 

Obviously, it contains two great singles in Mama Weer All Crazee Now and the underrated Gudbuy T' Jane but there are some other great slightly blues-influenced rockers too, showcasing Noddy Holder’s rasping voice. 


1. How D'You Ride
2. The Whole World's Goin' Crazee
3. Look At Last Nite
4. I Won't Let It 'Appen Agen
5. Move Over
6. Gudbuy T'Jane
7. Gudbuy Gudbuy
8. Mama Weer All Crazee Now
9. I Don' Mind
10. Let The Good Times Roll                                     

The upbeat rockers are The Whole World's Goin' Crazee and Let The Good Times Roll. A bluesy feel is found on How Do You Ride, Gudbuy Gudbuy and a more than credible cover of Janis Joplin’s Move Over

The deliberate spelling mistakes were continued here on many tracks, including I Won't Let It 'Appen Agen and the Gudbuy and
Crazee songs. At the time it caused a big fuss among teachers, who felt it was a bad influence on children's education. 

I quickly left Slade behind but they remain really good memories for me. They were a good band, not just a fixture on Top Of The Pops. This is a more than acceptable album.

Below is a clip of Slade performing Mama Weer All Crazee Now. 


No comments:

Post a Comment