Friday, 1 June 2018

Roxy Music - Flesh And Blood (1980)


Released May 1980

Recorded at Basing Street Studios, London

1980's "Flesh And Blood" is my least favourite Roxy Music album, despite there still being some good material on it. It seems very much a "treading water", "good in parts" piece of work. Immaculate sound, of course, but not an album I come back to very often.


1. In The Midnight Hour
2. Oh Yeah!
3. The Same Old Scene
4. Flesh And Blood
5. My Only Love
6. Over You
7. Eight Miles High
8. Rain, Rain, Rain
9. No Strange Delight
10. Running Wild

To the good points - the singles "Over You" and the catchy, radio friendly "Oh Yeah" or "there's a band playing on the radio" as most people know it. "My Only Love" and "The Same Old Scene" are almost classic Bryan Ferry solo numbers, same groove, same sound as was to be found on his mid-80s albums like "Boys And Girls" and "Bete Noire". The covers of Wilson Pickett’s "The Midnight Hour" and The Byrds' "Eight Miles High" are acceptable, but not a patch on the originals, of course. The remaining tracks - "Flesh And Blood"; "Rain, Rain, Rain"; "No Strange Delight" and "Running Wild" are nothing exceptional. Indeed, the last three are, for me, three of the band's most underwhelming numbers.

So, there you go. Solid but unspectacular - "Roxy Phase Two" by numbers.


No comments:

Post a Comment