Tuesday, 12 June 2018

Rod Stewart - Sing It Again, Rod (1973)

You wear it well....


Released August 1973


1. Reason To Believe
2. You Wear It Well
3. Mandolin Wind
4. Country Comfort
5. Maggie May
6. Handbags And Gladrags
7. Street Fighting Man
8. Twistin' The Night Away
9. Lost Paraguayos
10. (I Know) I'm Losing You
11. Pinball Wizard
12. Gasoline Alley
13. Oh No Not My Baby

This was Rod Stewart's equivalent of The Rolling Stones' "Made In The Shade", a pretty pointless compilation from his first four solo albums that saw him treading water somewhat in 1973. Of course, there is some outstanding material on here - "Maggie May"; "You Wear It Well"; "Reason To Believe"; the rocking "Twistin' The Night Away", "I Know I'm Losing You", "Mandolin Wind" and "Handbags And Gladrags". In fact, it is all good. The one "rarity" chucked in for fans who have everything else is Rod's cover of "Pinball Wizard" - approached with his expected vocal attack.

Obviously, the material is excellent, but I would recommend the four albums in themselves as opposed to this, on which there not enough "hits" as yet to call it a "greatest hits".

B for the songs. C+ for the concept


No comments:

Post a Comment