Sunday, 3 June 2018

Queen - The Game (1980)


Released June 1980

Recorded in Munich


1. Play The Game
2. Dragon Attack
3. Another One Bites The Dust
4. Need Your Loving Tonight
5. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
6. Rock It (Prime Jive)
7. Don't Try Suicide
8. Sail Away Sweet Sister
9. Coming Soon
10. Save Me

Despite the presence of two excellent Queen experiments in funk rock in the superb, innovative hit single “Another One Bites The Dust” and “Dragon Attack”, and two mid 70s throwback big Queen rock ballads in “Play The Game” and “Save Me”, this album really is a low point in Queen’s career.Released at the height of punk/new wave, apart from catching on to the disco/funk thing and diversifying a little, Queen really looked thoroughly out of place by now, despite an image change that saw Freddie Mercury cutting his hair, growing a big moustache and the band donning leather jackets and trying to look “hard”, as opposed to wearing flouncy blouses and singing about fairies and white queens.

Only the funk tracks really showed any credibility, to be honest. The big production rock just seemed like something from 1974-75 that should be left there. “Play The Game” would have taken the charts apart in 1974. Not now. People were listening to new wave, ska and post punk.

“Crazy Little Thing Called Love” was a huge hit, mind you, a fifties throwback that caught on with many non-Queen listeners. Not for me. I hated it then and I hate it now.

Tracks like “Need Your Love Tonight”, “Rock It” and the totally execrable candidate for the unenviable title of “Queen’s worst song ever”, “Don’t Try Suicide” offer nothing whatsoever. 

An anachronism of an album. Even the cover is uninspiring and seems cheaply done. The next album would be similarly dull and questionable in quality/credibility. Sorry. I don't like writing negative reviews, but sometimes albums have to be measured up against a band's other, far superior, works.


No comments:

Post a Comment