Sunday, 3 June 2018

Mott The Hoople - Mott The Hoople (1969)

Released November 1969

Recorded at Morgan Studios, Willesden, London

Mott The Hoople’s debut album, in 1969, three years before their Bowie-inspired renaissance, was a competent, but somewhat patchy affair. A great cover, by the way, but utterly irrelevant.

Nicely remastered, it kicks off with a storming semi-instrumental cover of The Kinks’ “You Really Got Me”, that almost sounds like a studio jam, then the Dylanesque “At The Crossroads” (one of Ian Hunter’s perennial influences). A cover of Sonny Bono’s “Laugh At Me” is not bad at all, neither is the most obvious single, the upbeat, riffy “Rock n Roll Queen”. “Half Moon Bay” is a bit introspective and the quality dips a little on the old “side two”. "Backsliding Fearlessly" from the old "side one" is a good one though, but you can't help but get the impression that this album saw the band go into the studio, play, and say "ok that'll do" in a "just happy to be there", rough and ready sort of fashion. I don't think they really thought this album through. It has the feeling of a studio jam pervading the whole thing.

Included here is another Dylan-inspired number, “Road To Birmingham”. It should have been on the original album, to be honest, as should “Little Christine”. I just feel there was more that could have been put on here, and it was something of a missed opportunity. Three more albums over the next three years would do a little to dispel that notion, but all the albums were ever so slightly flawed. Therein lay their appeal, however.


 1. You Really Got Me
 2. At the Crossroads
 3. Laugh at Me
 4. Backsliding Fearlessly
 5. Rock and Roll Queen
 6. Rabbit Foot And Toby Time
 7. Half Moon Bay
 8. Wrath And Wroll
 9. Ohio
 10. Find Your Way


No comments:

Post a Comment