Monday, 18 June 2018

Mott The Hoople - Live In Manchester (2013)


Recorded live in Manchester 2013


1. Intro
2. Rock 'n' Roll Queen
3. One Of The Boys
4. The Moon Upstairs
5. Hymn For The Dudes
6. Sucker
7. Soft Ground
8. Waterlow
9. Born Late '58
10. Death May Be Your Santa Claus
11. The Ballad Of Mott The Hoople
12. Walking With A Mountain
13. Violence
14. The Journey
15. Honaloochie Boogie
16. The Golden Age Of Rock 'n' Roll
17. All The Way From Memphis
18. All The Young Dudes
19. Roll Away The Stone
20. Saturday Gigs

Mott The Hoople, after their triumphant and well-received “farewell tour” in 2009, decided, ill-advisedly, to do it all again in 2013.  They chose to play in the massive O2 Centre in London and, for this recording, in Manchester’s Arena. The venues, as opposed to at 2009’s more intimate Hammersmith (Apollo) Odeon, were too large and were half full. Furthermore, the band, always a little messy, live, to be brutally honest, were four years older and even less reliable. The result is an album far inferior to the excellent 2009 release. It gives me no pleasure to say this, because I have loved Mott The Hoople since 1972, but they should have called it a day in 2009.

Yes, Rock 'n' Roll Queen and One Of The Boys rock enthusiastically at the show’s beginning, but there is something a bit more shambolic about the performance compared to the 2009 one. The Moon Upstairs makes another welcome appearance though, and it is suitably loud and frenetic. As it should be.

 Hymn For The Dudes and Sucker, although played energetically, are a bit of a mess in places. Mott had always been a bit like that, though, so it is nothing new, but this show is far more like that than the previous one. The strange Soft Ground  with organist Verden Allen on vocals was good to hear, and Waterlow is better than on its original album, so there are positives, but as I said, overall it is a far flatter show than the previous one. The encore material is still fun, though.


No comments:

Post a Comment