Sunday, 17 June 2018

Mott The Hoople - Live At Hammersmith (2009)

Recorded in October 2009, Hammersmith London

This was an album recorded "on the spot" so to speak and released to attendees (and everyone else) of this "farewell gig" in 2009 from Mott The Hoople (they did one more farewell tour in 2013). As far as the audience were concerned, however, this was the band's first live gig since 1974 and the roar of affection when they take the stage after the Jupiter (Holst) intro music is moving.

The sound is surprisingly good, nice and bassy, and captures the whole gig, warts and all, the on stage banter and a few brief confused moments, as you would expect from a gig from an honest, but never perfect band such as Mott The Hoople.

Some real oldies get an outing, like the heavy rock of The Moon Upstairs, the Dylanesque Original Mixed-Up Kid, the Stonesy Rock 'n' Roll Queen, the barnstorming Sweet Angeline and the mighty, anthemic The Journey. Great stuff. All the band on top form. Great to hear I Wish I Was Your Mother get an airing too.

After The Journey ends it is hits all the way in a wonderful finale -  The Golden Age Of Rock 'n' Roll, Honaloochie Boogie, All The Way From Memphis, Roll Away The Stone, All The Young Dudes and the band's "goodbye" song, Saturday Gigs. This was night one of a five night run. I was  there on night five. Great memories.


1. Intro
2. Hymn For The Dudes
3. Rock And Roll Queen
4. Sweet Jane
5. One Of The Boys
6. Sucker
7. The Moon Upstairs
8. The Original Mixed-Up Kid
9. I Wish I Was Your Mother
10. Ready For Love
11. Born Late '58
12. The Ballad Of Mott The Hoople
13. Sweet Angeline
14. Walking With A Mountain
15. Like A Rolling Stone/The Journey
16. The Golden Age Of Rock 'n' Roll
17. Honaloochie Boogie
18. All The Way From Memphis
19. Roll Away The Stone
20. All The Young Dudes
21. Keep A-Knockin'
22. Saturday Gigs


No comments:

Post a Comment