Sunday, 3 June 2018

Mott The Hoople - Live (1974)

You don't look like a slag, you look alright....


Released November 1974

Recorded live at Uris Theater, New York City and Hammersmith Odeon, London

I bought this as a teenager upon release in late 1974, after Mott The Hoople had actually split up. It harks back to better times. This now expanded edition has more tracks. The material is taken from two concerts, one at The Uris Theatre, New York, the other at the good old Hammersmith Odeon in London.

The New York gig kicks off with Ian Hunter singing a verse of Don McLean's American Pie before the band launch spectacularly into The Golden Age Of Rock 'n' Roll - Hunter's piano intro is then embellished with the full MTH power as Overend Watts's clunky bass, Dale Griffin's drums and Ariel Bender's guitar take us into sheer Mott heaven. 

Other highlights from the New York gig are Roll Away The Stone/Sweet Jane, the lovely Rest In Peace and All The Way From Mmphis.

From Hammersmith we get a full length Sweet Jane, and absolutely stonking Sweet Angeline and another beautiful Hunter ballad in  Rose. All The Young Dudes is sung at both shows, of course, while Hammersmith ends with a chaotic medley of Jerkin' Crocus, One Of The Boys, Rock 'n' Roll Queen and Whole Lotta Shaking. You just wish you had been there, at both gigs. The atmosphere is tangible.

Walking With A Mountain ends Hammersmith with the curtain being forcibly pulled down on the band and things come to a premature end.

The sound is good on these remasters, but Mott were always a bit mistake-prone, live. No matter, we loved them for it and still do.

"Don't Wanna Be Hip, But Thanks For A Great Trip”.


1. Intro

2. American Pie/The Golden Age Of Rock 'n' Roll
3. Sucker
4. Roll Away The Stone/Sweet Jane
5. Rest In Peace
6. All The Way From Memphis
7. Born Late '58
8. One Of The Boys
9. Hymn For The Dudes
10. Marionette
11. Drivin' Sister/Crash Street Kidds/Violence
12. All The Young Dudes
13. Walking With A Mountain
14. Intro
15. Drivin' Sister
16. Sucker
17. Sweet Jane
18. Sweet Angeline
19. Rose
20. Roll Away The Stone
21. All The Young Dudes
22. Medley
23. Walking With A Mountain


No comments:

Post a Comment