Sunday, 3 June 2018

Mink De Ville - Return To Magenta (1978)


Released in 1978

Recorded in New York City


1. Guardian Angel
2. Savoir Faire
3. "A" Train Lady
4. Rolene
5. Desperate Days
6. Just Your Friends
7. Steady Drivin' Man
8. Easy Slider
9. I Broke That Promise
10. Confidence To Kill                                

Willy “Mink” De Ville”s 1978 follow up to the impressive “Cabretta” does not quite hit the heights of that album, but is not short of highlights -the slow burning, romantic “Guardian Angel” and “”A” Train Lady” are typical De Ville street romance fare, as is the unique “Just Your Friends” with its extended, speeding-up harmonica fade-out.

My own personal favourite is “I Broke That Promise”, a worthy follow-up to the previous album’s “Mixed Up Shook Up Girl”.

Some De Ville blues rock are there in “Steady Drivin’ Man”, “Confidence To Kill”, “Rolene” and “Soul Twist” and “Desperate Days” is an appealing, upbeat bit of Latin fun.

“Easy Slider” is a laid back bit of bluesy rhythmic boogie as opposed to all out rock.

Like its predecessor, a nice memory for me of the summer of 1978.


No comments:

Post a Comment