Sunday, 3 June 2018

Lynyrd Skynyrd - One More From The Road (1976)


Released September 1976

Recorded live in Atlanta, Georgia


1. Working For MCA
2. I Ain't The One
3. Saturday Night Special
4. Searching
5. Travelin' Man
6. Simple Man
7. Whiskey Rock 'n' Roller
8. The Needle And The Spoon
9. Gimme Back My Bullets
10. Tuesday's Gone
11. Sweet Home Alabama
12. Gimme Three Steps
13. Call Me The Breeze
14. T For Texas
15. Sweet Home Alabama
16. Crossroads
17. Free Bird                                                      

The only Lynyrd Skynyrd live album from the original line up so tragically taken a short while after this concert. It sees this kick-ass Southern, whiskey-swilling rock band at their finest.

Yes, their signature tune “Sweet Home Alabama” and the live staple of “Free Bird” are there, of course, but for a taste of Lynyrd Skynyrd at their absolute best, listen to “Tuesday’s Gone”, with its beautiful piano part in the middle and stunning guitar at the end, as well as the late Ronnie Van Zant’s excellent lead vocal. 

There are many other highlights too - superb rockers like “Saturday Night Special”, “Call Me The Breeze” and “Gimme Three Steps” and the authentic blues rock of “Travellin’ Man” and “Simple Man”. Strangely there is a track by Free called “Travellin’ Man” and one by Bad Company called “Simple Man” although these are different tracks, the influence of both bands on Skynyrd is clear to hear. Skynyrd’s “Simple Man” was written three years before Bad Company’s though, so there are no doubt cross-influences to be fair. There is an impressive cover of Eric Clapton’s “Crossroads” too, in the same blues rock vein.

The album has great remastered, full sound and has a true “live” atmosphere. Great stuff. The deluxe edition has several of the tracks repeated as “alternate takes”, however, for the best full concert effect, it is probably wise to listen to the tracks as listed.


No comments:

Post a Comment