Monday, 4 June 2018

George McCrae - Rock Your Baby (1974)

I can't leave you alone....


Released July 1974

George McCrae’s 1974, produced, written and played on by KC & The Sunshine Band is an enjoyable dollop of 70s soul/funk pop, if there was such a thing.


1. Rock Your Baby

2. I Can't Leave You Alone
3. You Got My Heart
4. You Can Have It All
5. Look At You
6. Make It Right
7. I Need Somebody Like You
8. I Get Lifted
9. Rock Your Baby (Reprise)                               

The two smash singles are here - Rock Your Baby and I Can't Leave You Alone, the latter, as most tracks on here do, exploiting McCrae’s stunning falsetto. Most tracks follow a rather similar groove, but it is a good groove, so that’s ok for half an hour. Look At You is more of a slow burn funker, and I Need Somebody Like You employs a Spanish guitar to great effect. The funky I Get Lifted was, I believe, also recorded by KC, much funkier here though.

The bass is great all over this album, big, rich and full. The remastering on all these BBR (Big Break Records) is fantastic. Other artists are The Three Degrees, Billy Paul, the afore-mentioned KC and Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes. All are worth checking out.


No comments:

Post a Comment