Monday, 4 June 2018

Free - Free Live (1971)

I'm a mover....


Released September 1971

Recorded live in Sunderland and Croydon

Running time 40.33

Although this latest 2016 remastering is excellent, more subtle and a bit less thumping than the previous one (which I also enjoyed a lot too, to be honest) I feel the previous one, from 2002, gives a bit more value in that there are four additional live bonus tracks, three alternative live versions and an alternative take of the album's one studio cut, Get Where I Belong.

TRACK LISTING (original album)

1. All Right Now

2. I'm A Mover
3. Be My Friend
4. Fire And Water
5. Ride A Pony
6. Mr. Big
7. The Hunter


8. Get Where I Belong
9. Woman
10. Walk In My Shadow
11. Moonshine
12. Trouble On Double Time
13. Mr. Big
14. All Right Now
15. Get Where I Belong (alternative take)

The original album is fine, however, if you just want a quick seven song burst of just what the best (arguably) British blues rock outfit were like on stage in the early 70s. Recorded at gigs in Croydon and Sunderland in January and September 1970 they crowd noise is edited to make it sound like the tracks all follow on from each other, which is good.

The band are on fire, the rough and ready opener of All Right Now has no imperfections ironed out and therein lies its appeal. It is "warts 'n' all". Mr Big, Fire And Water, The Hunter. All excellent. Big, bassy, pounding guitar-based blues rock. A essential as the air we breathe. Love it.


No comments:

Post a Comment