Saturday, 2 June 2018

Donna Summer - Love To Love You Baby (1976)

Aaaaaaaaaah love to love you baby....


Released August 1975

Recorded at Musicland Studios, Munich


1. Love To Love You Baby
2. Full Of Emptiness
3. Need a Man Blues
4. Whispering Waves
5. Pandora's Box
6. Full Of Emptiness (Reprise)

This is a strange album, just six tracks. Five of them serve as a vehicle for the monumental, sixteen minute, highly erotic title track. That track is a classic of sensual slowed down disco funk and the album is worth having for that alone.

There is some merit is the rest of it, though, particularly the urgent funk of the yearning “Need A Man Blues”, the soulful “Whispering Waves” and “Pandora’s Box”. “Full Of Emptiness” is somewhat over-orchestrated, however. One cannot help but feel that a few more tracks could, and should, have been added.


No comments:

Post a Comment