Wednesday, 30 May 2018

The Clash - Combat Rock (1982)


Released May 1982

Recorded in London and New York

Of all the Mick Jones-supervised 2014 remasters, this is the one in which there is little difference between this and the 1999 remaster. The others sound revelatory, not so much on this one, for whatever reason.


1. Know Your Rights
2. Car Jamming
3. Should I Stay Or Should I Go
4. Rock The Casbah
5. Red Angel Dragnet
6. Straight To Hell
7. Overpowered By Funk
8. Atom Tan
9. Sean Flynn
10. Ghetto Defendant
11. Inoculated City
12. Death Is A Star

Released in 1982, this was the last proper Clash album, and, to be honest, the one to which I return to least frequently. Unlike many, I have never liked “Should I Stay Or Should I Go”, and also, as the old “side two” progresses, the songs get increasingly lazy and unappealing, particularly “Inoculated City” and “Death Is A Star”. “Sean Flynn” could fall into that category, but it has a sort of atmospheric appeal to it.

My personal favourites are “Car Jamming”, “Know Your Rights” and the monumental, evocative Vietnam-inspired “Straight To Hell”, with its South East Asian percussion sound.

“Overpowered By Funk” tries to continue where “The Magnificent Seven” left off, but doesn’t quite get there. “Rock The Casbah” was a great single too. Overall, it is not a bad album, but only a “good in parts” one. Not long after this The Clash as we knew them were no more. It had been five great years.

Thanks for the memories and the music.


No comments:

Post a Comment